Holy trinity

MacRory Cup: St Mary’s Magherafelt dominates Holy Trinity Cookstown in decision

Watch: Power of St Mary overtakes Holy Trinity to win MacRory Cup

St Mary’s Magherafelt won their second MacRory Cup after beating Holy Trinity College Cookstown 2-9 to 0-8 at the Athletic Grounds.

Niall O’Donnell and Cahir Quinn scored in the first half as Magherafelt led 2-1 to 0-4 at halftime.

O’Donnell starred as St Mary’s stormed after the restart and ran out of comfortable winners despite a late push from first-time runners-up.

This success comes on top of the success of the St Mary’s MacRory Cup in 2017.

Magherafelt School, who beat St Patrick’s Maghera in the semi-final, struck first when O’Donnell took on a few challenges and kept his composure to tuck the ball into the bottom corner in the third minute.

Ryan McEldowney’s point extended their lead, but Cookstown fought back thanks to Shea Quinn and Ryan Quinn’s excellent score.

Holy Trinity’s momentum was halted at 14 minutes when 18-year-old Quinn found the bottom corner from close range after being set up by John Lavery.

However, two scores towards the end of the half by Shea Quinn and captain Ruairi McHugh gave hope to the school of Cookstown, who beat CBS Omagh in the last four, as the deficit was reduced to three at the break.

A lively crowd was on hand to watch St Mary’s lift the MacRory Cup

In the second half, Tom Shivers and Ruairi Forbes put more light between the sides and, moments after Holy Trinity fended off a scoring chance, Lavery and Joshua Cassidy capitalized to put seven between the sides with 20 minutes remaining.

The impressive O’Donnell added a point on his opening goal and Shea Lawn’s long-range free gave Holy Trinity a much-needed scoreline as the game began to open up.

Cassidy hit the post with the gaping goal and O’Donnell’s rebound was brilliantly saved by goalkeeper Rian Smith, and a well-taken second point from Lawn and Terry Devlin gave the school more hope of Tyrone.

Lorcan Convery and O’Donnell ended all hopes of a comeback and, despite O’Hare’s point, O’Donnell’s man of the match was denied by a brilliant save from Smith in the closing stages.

St Mary’s captain Eoin McEvoy ruled out Odhran O’Donnell’s effort to rob Cookstown of any hope of a grandstand finish, and the final whistle sparked wild celebrations in MacRory’s first final since 2019.

St Mary’s High School, Magherafelt: James Gribbin, Conall Heron, Niall Rafferty, Simon Matterson, Ronan Walls, Eoin McEvoy (captain), Ruairi Forbes (0-1), Lorcan Convery (0-1), Ryan McEldowney (0-1), Benen Kelly, Conhuir Johnston , John Lavery (0-1), Cahir Quinn (1-0), Tom Shivers (0-1), Niall O’Donnell (1-3).

Replacements: Tiarnan McOscar, Lorcan Bradley, Daniel Kelly, Richard Drain, Sean Byrne, Joshua Cassidy (0-1), Aodhan Young, Daniel Quinn, Ronan Mawhinney, Paul Duffin, Niall Baine, Sean McAuley, Diarmuid Mullholland, Conall Higgins, Luke Burns, Eunan Crozier, Ethan Canavan, Darragh Young, Callum Campbell, Jaie Wilson, Adam Maher, Ciaran McKenna, Yarfhlaith McKeating.

Holy Trinity College, Cookstown: Rian Smith, Shane Hughes, Callan Kelly, Luke Cullen, Michael Devlin, Brian Hampsey, Conan Devlin, Ruairi McHugh (capt) (0-2), Blian Ryan, Odhran O’Driscoll, Shea Quinn (0-2), Jack Martin , Shea Lawn (0-2), Peter Loughran, Michael McElhatton.

Replacements: Conall Quinn, Mark Donnelly, Sean O’Hare, Keegan Hampsey, Ronan Devlin, Rhys Donnelly, Rian Nelis, Odhran Nugent, Daniel Woodhead, Karol McGuigan, Cormac Woods, Terry Devlin (0-1), Keelan Quinn, Shea Hamilton, Ryan Conway, Conal McKenna, Ryan Quinn (0-1), John Lagan, Conor Talbot, Ronan Coney, Shea McNamee, Cathal Heagney.