The Church of the Most Holy Trinity, Bunclody was blessed and opened on 6th December 1970 by Most Rev. Donal Herlihy,
Bishop of Ferns.
The parish priest at that time was V. Rev. Joseph Wadding.
The church was designed by the Dublin architect Edward N. Smith, who wrote as follows in the commemorative brochure; The evolution of the design concept from the initial stages, was influenced by the enlightened directions of Vatican 11 on the Sacred Liturgy. No longer should there be a barrier between Celebrant and Laity, rather should all be active participants in the Sacred Mystery.
Accordingly, there is no delineation, with the exception of a single step, between Nave and Sanctuary. The unique 121 6 long pre-stressed post tension central beam running from the tower through the entire length of the Church, helps to further direct the public, immediately upon entering the Church, towards the Altar of Sacrifice. The builder was P. Furlong and Sons, Bunclody.
St. Mary Magdalene Church
This church replaced an older building on the Carnew Road, which had been dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene and which had served as the parish church since 1826. The site of the old church is now within the complex of buildings which house the F.C.J. Convent and School. The church was consecrated on 29th June, 1978. The parish priest at that time was V. Rev. R. J. Breen.
In 1999 the church was embellished by oak panelling. The 'Calvary' which originally belonged to the Church of St Mary Magdalene, was erected on the wall behind the altar. A statue of the Immaculate Conception and holy water fonts from the old church was also installed, the granite cross which originally surmounted the older church was placed at the foot of the tower outside, and the original bell, dated 1834, was installed in the tower. A large painting by David Begley, entitled 'Resurrection' was unveiled on the back wall of the Altar on 8th November 2002.